How Do Things Get So Crazy?


How things get so messed up – that’s a real good question.  I remember when I was carrying my first child, how thrilling it was to think that I was having a little baby and what a wonderful addition to my life it would be!  At first, yes, it was tremendous!  I could feel the joy that comes with motherhood, and it was a terrific feeling to experience.  In only 5 short years, I began to see difficulties that made me shudder at the mere thought of ever having another child.

I discovered, after both my children were grown, their childhood was something I would long to relive – over and over.  It’s so much easier to deal with day to day life when your children are youngsters and pretty much under your control.  Actually, I would call it more protection than control.  However, life doesn’t work that way, so our children grow up and leave home.  Sometimes their decisions can break your heart … and I’m afraid that is all I have ever known – complete heart break with both of my children.

We – my husband and I – raised our children in a Christian home, that’s kind of a rarity these days which is sad all by itself.  Not just an ordinary Christian home, but one like I grew up in … a preacher’s home.  Life can be extremely difficult for a preacher’s kid – I know that, because I was one too.  There are terrific advantages to being a preacher’s kid, too, though.  For one thing – and the most important thing in life – you have much more chance of accepting Jesus Christ as your Saviour – therefore going to heaven when you leave this world.  I’m truly thankful that both of our children professed their faith in Jesus when they were young.

As a teenager, our boy surrendered his life to the Lord’s work as a preacher.  By the time he was 17, he also felt he would be used in evangelism just like his grandfather.  I must say, that after I actually heard my son preach, he would have been a very good evangelist.  Well, that didn’t happen.  Our boy didn’t become a preacher – in fact, he went to the complete opposite end of the spectrum.  About 4 years ago, he became a ‘satanic high priest’ … Hmmmm, I suppose you could say that has broken my heart – very much.

Our daughter began singing in the church as a young teenager … she has a very pretty voice.  Once she turned 17, she decided that she’s a lesbian.  Now, at 18, she has moved out of the house, has no job or income, with a school loan staring her in the face.  I will never know the ‘joy’ of being able to have a grandchild that could possibly be normal.  Yes, this was (and is) another heart break for me.

What happened?  I have absolutely NO idea.  If I knew, then I would do everything in my power to change things.  This Mama’s heart has been broken severely over her children.  I know, in my heart, that the way my children turned out has nothing to do with the ‘way’ I raised them.  Maybe they didn’t see Mama praying or reading my Bible enough … that’s a possibility, but I don’t think that would change their ‘heart’ and what they decided to do with their lives.  In today’s society – their decisions are not ‘bad’ or ‘wrong’ … WHAT on earth is this world coming to?!?!  I already know the answer to that question … it’s coming to an end – it has to be.

The best advice this old woman can give any parent of young children now is:  Always pray with and for your children.  Make sure you take them to church because they need to learn of Jesus and His love.  Do the best you can at instilling good values in them … you have no control over what they will do with them when they are grown, but you need to do your part.  If this helps ‘any’ parent, in any way, it has done the job I wanted done with it.  I know there are many people who will call me a ‘kook’ … that’s okay, I grew up being called worse things.  Just remember, God watches everything you say and do … He IS the final authority … even though you may not believe He exists.  One day, all of humanity will believe He is real … don’t let it be too late for you, my friend, call on Jesus Christ today for salvation.

Romans 3:23, Romans 6:23, Romans 5:8, Romans 10:9, 10 & 13

2 thoughts on “How Do Things Get So Crazy?

  1. Proverbs 22:6
    “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

    It was a long road back mama – but it brought me back to the path which the Lord has set aside for me.

  2. Yes, it was a very long road back for you sunshine – but I’m eternally grateful to the Lord for His touch on your heart on October 25, 2015. Now, your life will be lived for His Glory. As long as you stay close to God, your life will be much better than ever – not necessarily easy, but so much better than it would be without Him close by.

Leave a Reply

